Indiana University Overseas Study

Ciao belli ragazzi!

I just wanted to wish you a belated HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!  Sorry, it’s one of my favorite holidays, so I wanted to give it a shout out in this blog since I failed to do anything fun on Halloween itself.

In my mind, Halloween marks the beginning of the holiday season, and thankfully the Italians agree!  In Italy, All Saints Day (November 1) is considered a national holiday.  Classes are cancelled, most shops close, and everyone went away for the weekend.  So two friends and I decided to head west to Milan for a couple of days.

We went to Milan with a couple of ideas as to what to do, but basically we just had train tickets and a hostel reservation.  We had a fantastic time.  We came up with a small basic plan for our two-day excursion.  We wanted to see the Duomo for sure.  Casey wanted to see the Last Supper, however, you need to make a reservation at least a month in advance.  Just a small helpful hint for anyone planning on visiting Milan.

Being in Italy for the past few months, I have heard the name Milan tossed around a couple of times.  Italians, for some odd reason, aren’t very fond of Milan.  One of my friend’s teachers here asked her class, “What city is considered the biggest failure or unappealing city in the United States?”  The majority of her class had responded Detroit (no offense intended to Detroit).  When you ask Italian the same question about Italy, they will usually respond with Milan.

However, I suggest that everyone goes to Milan at some point in their life, it is absolutely amazing.  The city itself is amazing to walk around.  I was only there for two days, but I could’ve easily spent three more days just wandering around the city.  The city may be a little more modern-looking than Bologna, but it was still gorgeous.  The highlights of what we saw were:  Il Duomo, la Scala opera house, Castello Sforzesco, Parco Sempione, La Galleria Vittorio Emanuele, and the canals.

The only sad thing was that there wasn’t very much water in the canals, but I could definitely get a picture of what it would’ve looked like in my mind.  We also wandered the fashion district in Milan.  We window shopped at Giorgio Armani, Hermes, Dior, Chanel, Versace, Prada, and Louis Vitton.  Which was amazing!  And trust me, I’m not even a huge fashion nerd.

So all in all, my first real holiday weekend getaway was a complete success!
View all posts by Kate

