Indiana University Overseas Study

olsson_kate

Christmas!  It was officially Christmas.

Starting a couple of weeks ago, I began seeing the signs of Christmas. Thankfully, Italians don’t shove the Christmas spirit in your face the way that Americans do. Christmas decorations appear very slowly and slowly get you into the holiday spirit. Window displays started showing Christmas sweaters, hats, scarves, and gloves. Then, the CioccoShow arrived.

CioccoShow is when different chocolate vendors from Italy, Germany, and Belgium show up and have tents with their different wares. Now I, personally, am not a huge fan of chocolate, BUT I will not deny how cool some of these things looked. They made horse shoes, spoons, shoes, animals, and cartoon characters out of chocolate. These things actually looked real. I thought they were real horse shoes.

Some of my friends decided that even though I don’t eat chocolate, it was required of me to eat chocolate at the CioccoShow. So I ate, to my dismay and slight protests, a square of chocolate cake. Let’s just say that I didn’t eat anything for the rest of the day. However, I went the next day with another group of friends to buy stocking stuffers for my family. I did treat myself to a Belgian waffle covered dipped in chocolate. I also drank, because I could tolerate it better, white hot chocolate.

Finally, the Christmas lights started to appear. Bologna hangs lights above all the major streets. The only problem is that they kind of look like mustaches.  So basically, Bologna has mustache lights.  I couldn’t wait to see what else the holiday season could bring.

View all posts by Kate

