Indiana University Overseas Study

hobbs_alexis

Before my arrival in Dublin, I filled out a series of forms in the hopes of obtaining an internship abroad. After about a month or so, my internship coordinator, Caroline, got back to me and set up a Skype interview to figure out what my main interests were for an internship. My roommate at the time was in the room when she Skyped me and we both were giddy to hear her Irish accent.

After a month or so of sending my resume and CV to various companies, Caroline notified me that a bridal magazine would be pleased to take me on as an intern. Unfortunately, there were scheduling issues and that internship fell through, but another magazine called TVNow was willing to take me in on Monday and Friday. Through all the craziness of starting up at a new school and figuring out my schedule, my internship was finally set in stone.

The effects of Ireland’s recession can be seen on the streets of Dublin, with many “To Let” signs, and it can be seen in the office as well. I immediately noticed how small of a team TVNow had. There were 6 cubicles and only 3 people were in the office at the time that I came in.

The magazine is printed every week, so it’s astounding that only a few people can pull off such a feat in a small amount of time. I’m not certain that the recession has anything to do with their few employees, but it has affected many companies throughout Ireland and probably has altered the price of the TVNow magazine.

The workplace in Ireland is a lot more relaxed than what I’m used to at home. There aren’t strict guidelines thrown at you day-by-day about what needs to be done and at what time. Basically, my editor gives me a task to do and lets me run with it.

Although it’s nice to have so much freedom, I often find it difficult to know what exactly is wanted from me. For example, the first Friday I worked, my editor told me to go out on the street and survey random people for a ‘box-pop,’ as she called it. This survey asked what people’s favorite TV shows were and what their least favorite shows were.

It was quite difficult to stroll up to a random person I’ve never met and get them to answer a few questions, let alone get their approval for a picture. I was unsure about how long I was to be doing this so I went back to the office only to be sent back onto the streets for the rest of the day. Needless to say, I’ve now learned to ask how long I need to spend on my tasks.

All in all, this internship experience is going to be a great help in my future endeavors in journalism. It has pushed me to be a more confident, hard-working journalist and to not be afraid to speak to people I have never met and whom I will probably never see again. I’m going to take these lessons with me for the rest of my life and hopefully they will pay off in the long run.

View all posts by Alex

