Indiana University Overseas Study

Farewell Dublin

hobbs_alexis

Now that I have finished my classes in Dublin, I’m finding it easier to believe that I’ll be coming home soon. What’s odd is that I have become so accustomed to calling Dublin my home that it really feels like it is home.

I’ve immersed myself in the culture here and have even adopted their little quirks, such as speaking quietly on the bus and saying ‘thank you’ to the driver before hopping off. I’ve become more inclined to spend money on little treats that I would have shied away from before. And the accents, well, they don’t phase me anymore. I remember being giddy about them during the first week I was here, but now they hardly sound different in my mind, unless the accent is so thick that I can’t understand them.

This next week will be filled with cleaning the house, writing final papers, packing my suitcases and praying I don’t forget anything important, trying to soak in the last days in Dublin and parting ways with the friends I have made here. Needless to say, I won’t be getting a lot of sleep these last days in Dublin.

What I’m going to miss about Ireland is the feeling I get when I step out into the cold, blistery air and think, “I’m still the luckiest person in the world.” And I am. To have an opportunity like this is one that not many people get to experience. I’ve traveled to other countries in Europe such as the Netherlands and Britain, I’ve held baby sheep and played hurling (all in the same day), I now have an internship under my belt which allowed me to meet Irish celebrities on the red carpet, and most of all, I lived in a completely different country and I made it my home.

I’m looking forward to seeing my family and friends again in America, although I’m concerned I may start every sentence with, “Well in Ireland…” I’ll need to be conscious about that and try to assimilate back into American culture before all of my friends run for the hills when they see me coming. I’ll miss my new home in Dublin with all of the friendly Irish people who have made it so easy to live here, but I’m ready to come back to my real home and use the skills I’ve learned here to better myself in America.

View all posts by Alex

