Indiana University Overseas Study

Erica Ewen

Many emotions are coursing through me as I await my first flight, with my final destination in Berlin, Germany for the next 4 weeks; excited for the experiences ahead, sad to say goodbye to my family for a while, and anxious for the traveling process to get underway.

If you are anything like me, you have over-prepared (and probably over-packed) for the next few weeks ahead. There are many things that are essential to overseas travel like your passport, phone, money, etc., but there are also several things that are necessary that might not be as apparent to you unless you ask or are a seasoned world-traveler yourself!

Converters: European electric outlets are different from those in the United States and without your converters (I purchased mine at Bed, Bath & Beyond) you are sure to melt your cords and ruin your possessions. I also purchased a converter specifically for my phone from my cellphone provider.

Camera: This is a more of a personal preference item, but I have considered it a necessity for my trip. My iPhone camera would probably suffice, but I convinced my sister to let me borrow her Nikon D3100 with a 18-70mm lens. I can candidly say that I have no idea what those numbers mean, but I wanted to be able to capture all the things I will see with the best equipment!

packing

Some of the necessities: passport, camera, backpack, jacket!

An Open Mind: This should be a day-to-day necessity, in my opinion, but it is especially needed when traveling to a new place with 10 other people that I have never met. I’m (somewhat) prepared for the culture shock and possible homesickness that I might face after a few days in Germany, but I can also say that I plan to combat that by remembering why I chose to come to Berlin in the first place. I really wanted to be immersed in the city that I have previously learned so much about in my courses at IU and learn about how the city and the culture has changed and how the people have adapted to that change.

I am thoroughly excited to be in Berlin and start this adventure!

Erica Ewen - exploring German History through experience

